So I have this condition….

Last year I was diagnosed with Hypothyroidism. I went to my doctor worried that I was suffering from Depression. I was down, low, and all around rather crappy. I sat in his office in tears trying to explain to him that I didn’t know what was wrong with me. That I had no reason to feel depressed, I had just gotten married and life was all around awesome. But I was sad, and something was wrong.

After the routine blood tests I was diagnosed with Hypothyroidism. Now what exactly is that and why is it so scary?

Firstly what is your Thyroid and what does it do:

A gland that makes and stores hormones that help regulate the heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, and the rate at which food is converted into energy. Thyroid hormones are essential for the function of every cell in the body. They help regulate growth and the rate of chemical reactions (metabolism) in the body. Thyroid hormones also help children grow and develop.

The thyroid gland is located in the lower part of the neck, below the Adam’s apple, wrapped around the trachea (windpipe). It has the shape of a butterfly: two wings (lobes) attached to one another by a middle part called the isthmus.

The thyroid uses iodine, a mineral found in some foods and in iodized salt, to make its hormones. The two most important thyroid hormones are thyroxine (T4) and triiodothyronine (T3). Thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH), which is produced by the pituitary gland, acts to stimulate hormone production by the thyroid gland. The thyroid gland also makes the hormonecalcitonin, which is involved in calcium metabolism and stimulating bone cells to add calcium to bone.

Pretty important hey. So what happens when your’s works to slowly, like mine? Here is a list of the 69 (YES 69) most common symptoms:

Image

So pretty much EVERYTHING goes pearshape!

I have been managing my condition for about 10 months now. My medication has been upped and I am starting to feel so much better. The only thing that I am having trouble with now is weight gain. I thought that once my metabolism was sorted out the weight gain would stop. But it hasn’t its actually accelerated. And I have put on about 10kgs in the last 6 months, and losing this weight is near impossible. This all comes down to hormonal imbalances that you still may have, even after being diagnosed, as well as pancreas function which slows down when Thyroid is not working properly and doesn’t really speed back up. I must say that getting some answers has made this easier, as putting on weight when you haven’t been overeating or exercising any less is not fun.

 

One thought on “So I have this condition….

  1. I’ve been taking Eltroxin for my underactive thyroid for probably 8 years already. I struggle daily with so many of those symptoms and I hate it. My dosage has been upped so many times that I have actually asked the Dr if he couldnt just remove the damn thing which is completely moronic but whatever. I know how hard it can be living with these symptoms, they suck. But I am glad that you are starting to feel better 🙂

Leave a Reply

