Introducing the Sleep Fairy

My hubby and I got married in May in finally moved in together. Before this Jae-Lyn and I lived at my mothers house and shared a room (but not a bed). The move was obviously a big change for all of us and Jae-Lyn seemed to be ok all in all, except when it came to bed time.

 

Before she would happily sleep in her own bed by herself and suddenly she couldn’t fall asleep unless I was lying in the bed with her. When she was finally asleep I would climb into my own bed and would then be woken up between 1-5 times a night by my lovely daughter.  She was sharing a room with her cousin so I didn’t want to make a bedtime a huge fighting crying game as this poor boy also needed to get some sleep.

 

A few weeks ago Jae-Lyn FINALLY moved into her own room. We made it all pink and pretty for her, got her a double bunk and she loves it. We were hoping that this would encourage her to want to sleep at night, but sadly no. This just made her want her mommy in her bed more than ever. 

 

I have never been a fan of the crying method and my daughter is all about rewards and competitions so we came up with a few beauties:

 

  • A morning and bedtime routine reward chart. Both charts run for a week at a time and she got to choose the prize at the end of the week for a perfect chart. She chose to be surprised. 
  • A little sleepy helper called the Sleep Fairy. She only visits on nights when Jae sleeps by herself and sometimes leaves a present behind. Jae absolutely LOVES the Sleep Fairy. And yesterday the clever little fairy sent Jae the following letter:

Dear Jae-Lyn

Congratulations on having your own bedroom. I have come to visit you during the night and it looks beautiful. Thank you for leaving the light on in your little Hello Kitty house for me and leaving treats by the bed. It was lovely staying over with you. 

Your mommy told me that you are getting the hang of sleeping in your big girl bed and I wanted to give you something to help you. Tonight when you go to bed there will be a present at the top of your cupboard. This very special present that I have chosen for you can only be opened after you sleep by yourself in your bed for 5 nights in a row. Your mommy is going to put a star on the wrapping paper for every night that you get it right.

I am very excited to see those stars go up. And I will pop in tonight to see how you are doing.

Love, The Sleep Fairy

P.S. If you could leave some biscuits out for me again that would be wonderful

xxxx

 

This method seems to be working wonders for us. Jae gets so excited about the sleep fairy and has even ‘seen’ her a few times (although I’m sure she was dreaming)

And I must say that seeing the excitement and amazement in her eyes makes it all worthwhile. What I wouldn’t give to be a child again.

The reward chart that we use can be downloaded here and is completely customizable. I found it on All Things Simple.

 

Have you come up with any tricks or used something similar to get your child to bed? I would love to here them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

