The Fabulous Fours……….

The title of this post is a bit misleading as the F word that I would have liked to use seems a bit inappropriate. My lovely daughter turned 4 in February and its all kind of been downhill from there. Here is a list of what I am going through at the moment:

 

1. She does not want to do anything. She will cry for a toy that is in another room, but won’t physically get up to fetch it. And I hear MOM, MOM, MOM, MOM, MOM, MOM until said toy is given to her.

2. Her answer to anything is NO, I don’t want to, I really don’t want to, I really really don’t want to.

3. I don’t want (insert dinner dish here) for supper. I want (insert another dinner dish here) rather. And then hear ‘But why can’t you make it for me?’ Followed by a tantrum when I refuse to make said dish.

4. Bedtime has gone from being as easy as pie to an absolute nightmare. By the time I get into my bed I am convinced that a vein inside my brain is going to explode. And I walk around feeling just like stressed Eric for the most part.

Image 

This list goes on and on and on and I have come to one conclusion. The effing fours are terrible because your child has started to realize that he/she can make his/her own decisions. He/She does not feel that he/she has to listen to everything that Mom or Dad said because in his/her mind they know better. Little 4 year old’s are like miniature teenagers. But I cannot only put her bad behavior on her age.

 

She is going through a lot of changes at home and it is obvious that she doesn’t do very well with change. Instead of directing her feelings toward whatever is upsetting her she directs it towards me. In May we moved out of my Mom’s house and into our own house. And it is very clear that she misses her Granny like mad. Even though we still see each other a lot. And her Uncle and his Fiance were living with us and got married on Saturday and have moved out. She is extremely close to them and is a bit heartbroken that they are not there anymore. She will also see them everyday as we live very close to each other. So instead of telling me she is sad because of these things she is cross with me because of the fact that I hugged the dog before her, or I held another baby at her cousins birthday party. It’s kind of heartbreaking. But we are making the best of it and trying to make it as fun and exciting as possible for her. 

 

Any other moms with 4 year old’s going through something similar? I would love to hear some feedback on what works for you? I am going to try different reward charts and will let you know how those go……..

 

But in the meantime can someone please pour me some wine…………………………….

Leave a Reply

