Day 2 – Memories

First memory would be sitting on my dad’s shoulders collecting eggs on our farm in Sedgefield. I was about 3 years old and its my earliest memory. My Dad was singing ‘I just called to say I love you’. He moved to America when I was 12, and I have seen him for 2 days since he left. Whenever I phone him and get the answering machine I sing our song for him.

 

I can remember the day my sister was born like it was yesterday. I remember driving to the hospital with my Stepdad. I remember thinking how amazing it was to have my own little sister. With a 6 year age gap I was able to help out with a lot and I felt so important. I also may have stick her in a cupboard at some stage. But we will just let that one slip.

 

My stepfather was killed in a hijacking when I was 16. This is THE most significant memory of my childhood. It overshadows everything else. This was the day my childhood died and I became an adult. This day changed the course of my life. It took things away from me but also took me to places I never thought I would be. I don’t really talk about it, its something that I have not dealt with at all.

Leave a Reply

